Tuesday, May 10, 2011

Election Day Results

by Mel Haughton, 2011 Nominating Committee

The LSC elections were completed online in April. The Nominating Committee is
pleased to present you with your 2011-2012 officers:

President Jackie Tidwell
First Vice President Darice Lang
Second Vice President Alice Leal
Past President Arroxane Eber
Parliamentarian Mike Hiatt
Treasurer Kristy Nolan
Secretary Monica Winkelman

Thank you to these volunteers for so graciously offering to give their time to the LSC! Officers will be installed during the September meeting.

Read on to familiarize yourself with our newly-installed officers!

Jackie Tidwell, President
Jackie has a BA in English from University of North Texas, with an endorsement
in Technical Writing. Entering her seventh year as a technical writer, Jackie works as a Collaboration Services Lead and System Documentation Writer at Ambit Energy, a retail energy provider. Jackie's most recent accomplishment is developing and deploying her company's first intranet and collaboration portal using Microsoft SharePoint. In her spare time, she enjoys genealogy, traveling, and tattoos.

Darice Lang, First Vice President
Darice Lang has a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering and a minor in technical writing from Clarkson College of Technology. After 18 years as a technical writer for Texas Instruments, she is currently working at ASSET InterTech, Inc. as a lone writer. She has been a technical communicator for over 30 years, and a member of the Lone Star Chapter for most of those years. She’s also a gardener and quilter in her “spare” time.

Alice Leal, Second Vice President
Alice has been the Technical Communications Supervisor at ViewPoint Bank in
Plano for 8 years and prior to that, was a Business Process Analyst for Citizens
Communications for 6 years. She has been a member of STC for 7 years.

Arroxane T. U. Eber, Past President
Arroxane is a contract Technical Writer and President of Kineteka Systems, LLC. She
has a master's in Technical Writing from the University of North Texas and a bachelor's in Liberal Arts from Excelsior College. Arroxane is a former U.S. Marine, member of the Dallas Future Society, community volunteer, and polyglot. She's a Senior Member of STC and has served LSC in a variety of roles over the last seven years.

Monica Winkelman, Secretary
Monica is the technical writer at dataVoice International, a software-development
company in Allen. She has a Bachelor's degree in Journalism and a Master's degree in
Technical Writing, both from the University of North Texas in Denton. She has been a
member of LSC for six years and has attended one STC national conference.

Kristy Nolan, Treasurer
Kristy is a senior member of STC. She is the Ground Ops Manager, Central Publications
for Southwest Airlines, with a BA in biology from Hiram College and an MEd in
environmental education from John Carroll University. Prior to joining Southwest
Airlines, she was the assistant director of the SS William G. Mather Museum in
Cleveland, Ohio. Kristy just returned from her fourth Eye Care mission to assist the
people of El Salvador.

Mike Hiatt, Parliamentarian
Mike is a senior member of STC, having been a member of the Lone Star Community
since he joined. He currently is a senior technical writer with GENBAND, a telecom
media gateway, signaling and switching company. He previously served three years as
Treasurer of the LSC and is currently serving Parliamentarian.